Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
805-751-6739

The California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) has updated its answers to frequently asked questions about paid sick leave, the paid sick leave poster, and employee noticedue to the changes to the state paid sick leave requirement that took effect January 1, 2024.

Upcoming Changes to Paid Sick leave

Effective January 1, 2024, the paid sick leave requirement in the California Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act increased to 40 hours per year from what was previously 24 hours per year. Accrual methods, use caps, and total accrual limits were also affected by Senate Bill 616.

FAQ Updates

As of December 12, 2023, the DLSE updated answers to the paid sick leave FAQs on its website about the following topics and more:
  • How employers with non-calendar-year plans transition to the new leave amounts under both accrual and front-loading methods
  • That employers must provide the greater of five days or 40 hours of leave
  • Whether an employer may require documentation that leave has been used for a permit reason
  • How the paid leave requirement applies to collectively bargained employees

New Post and Employee Notice

The DSLE also updated the paid sick leave poster and employee notice. Employers that previously provided less than 5 days or 40 hours of paid sick leave per year will need to provide employees with a new copy of the notice. All employers must also post the new poster. Employers may ask for leave certification only in limited circumstances.

Important Dates

October 4, 2023

California amended the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act, expanding the state’s paid sick leave requirement.

December 12, 2023

The Division of Labor Standards Enforcement updated its FAQs about the law to address the amendments.

January 1, 2024

The amendments expanding the leave requirement took effect.